Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman Hawaii (Kona)
Options

Kona ... under 6 weeks to go!

How are you feeling, team? 

My high points:

-Just completed the last big bike block by way of my annual Labour Day Weekend Hurtfest ... 3 x 5h bike, 4h-and-someting run, 4h swim. 

-For whatever reason, September 1 is my mental 'this s*** just got real' date.  Went from abstract training to having my head very much in the game.

How goes it for you? 

Comments

• Options
    I am in a bit of a freaking out phase! I'm back into the "Beginner IM Plan" which I followed for IMLP. It's not that I'm a beginner triathlete, just a beginner IM, but if I plan to go longer than 13:30, that's what I'm directed to follow. And I'm that!

I've been in touch on the "Geezer" forum for some advice, and also Coach Patrick. I'm supposed to be resting more and not doing runs longer than one hour right now. I'm thinking that will have to change soon. Coach P. said to practice drinking. A lot. Get the gut ready for all the fluid we will need to take in that heat. I am worried about the heat, humidity, and the wind.

Today I worked on logistics for getting my bike to Kona without breaking the bank. Looks like bringing it with me will be the answer. TBT is very costly.

Somehow I felt much better leading up to IMLP, maybe because I had never done an IM before. Ignorance is bliss!
  • Options
    Kate, the freaking out is all part of the IM game ... no matter how many of them you have under your belt, it just comes naturally with the task at hand. Just take comfort and confidence knowing that you can do this - so well, in fact, that you have earned a spot at the World Championships - and it will come together on race day!

I saw your dashboard note about TBT - wow. $750 is a lot of cheese. Be sure to post on the main board if you are looking for some pointers on disassembly. Once you get to the island, there will be lots of help getting you back on your wheels.
  • Options