Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman Hawaii (Kona)
Options

Kona, Week 17... (plus Video)

Lots to think about as you head into the final month of prep. This is a big week for you, but you still need to balance the work you want to do with the work that is going to help you achieve your race day goals -- they aren't always one and the same!  Happy running...enjoy the video when you can! 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsgdufdKeSE

Comments

• Options
    Really great stuff in here. Nice work.
  • Options
    Dave, thanks man! Can't wait to see you out there on the Big Island!
  • Options
    Thanks Coach P, good information for a Kona virgin like me. I've never done two IMs in a year before, much less 7 weeks apart. It will be interesting to see how my body responds. I had a good week of training last week in NC, but I was on vacation and mostly just training and resting. (Closest thing to being a pro that I've ever been.) Being back at work and getting ready for my daughter's birthday and visit and catching up on household chores has been a rude awakening this week.
  • Options
    This week through wk19 I'm (1) catching up on missed homework and (2) trying to shoehorn as much as I can into my travel to IMChat next week. Planning to run pretty much every day through wk19 to miracle some durability in my legs. I'm also swimming as much as I can this week and next because highly doubtful I'll be able to swim at all in Chattanooga.

And like I'm sure many of you have been doing, I'm fleshing out my plan for race day, practicing mental rehearsals, setting goals and targets, etc
  • Options
    I sat in the sauna today for 20 mins. What's a good amount of time to be hanging out in the sauna before heading to Kona? Boy did I sweat!!
  • Options
    I've been doing that too! I try for 20 min after a long swim. Supposed to be 100 today in Sacramento. That will help!image??
  • Options