Home Coaching Forum 🧢
Options

Maurice Matthew's Micro Thread

Hi I'm in week 3 of the Out-season run durability. My cycle training has me varying from Zone 3(215-229) power to Zone 5(296-323 power for certain training sections. I'm new to using power, but should my power zones correlate with my cycling HR Zones? My assumption is that my Zone 2 Power should correlate with a Zone 2 HR which should be under 145. Should this be the case or am i off base with thinking about Power versus HR Cycle training?

As an aside, my garmin cycling computer shows my heart rate at a max of 219 (I'm 35) when doing threshold testing. This seems ridiculously high when I compare it against what I see on forums about others HR Max but this is what it says.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    Maurice...that High HR number means you are a BEAST!  image   No, don't worry about Max HR...that's some algorithm; we only care about the HR Zones from the EN calculator. 

As for the power zone / HR zone issue, they don't correlate 1 to 1, especially if you are indoors as riding on a trainer really suppresses your HR (no wind, hills, balance, etc.).   Just pick one (we prefer HR) for these shorter & harder workouts...we can transition you back to paying attention to the HR numbers as the rides get longer. 

Power is where it's at...now you need to try to keep moving that number up!  

Speaking of numbers, I don't see your test data in the Heads / Tails Sheet here. You can put you name and info below the other names...and enter your data, then we'll give you some feedback!

Onwards!!!

~ Coach P

• Options
    Thanks for this. Did you mean, you prefer I focus on power now and then HR when the rides get longer?
  • Options