Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Rob's Augusta 70.3 Race Report

A (Very) Little History: I am new to triathlons this year. I ran two Olympics in June and decided I wanted to try IM 70.3. I have experience running marathons, half marathons and various other distances. I cam to EN because I suspected that I needed help in race strategy, and smart training.

Overall: This race was pretty difficult for me to wrap my head around (after finishing). The weather was tough, especially given my cushy summers in central Wisconsin. In the end I am incredibly proud of what I accomplished:

·        I finished. Sometimes this isn’t as front-and-center for me in races.  It’s a given. But as I spent a ton of time staring down the line in the run… this became even more important

·        I executed. I had a plan. I stuck to the plan. I found discipline where I normally have been void. This was why I joined EN, and this will be the reason for my success moving forward.

·        I swam. My first two tri’s, I had a very difficult time controlling my HR and ended up hyperventilating, losing many minutes while breast stroking or treading water. Not this time. Once I started, I never stopped. This perhaps is my biggest source of pride. 

Weather: I knew this would be somewhat of a challenge coming into this race. But, there was limited availability for other (more northern) races by the time I made the decision to jump into 70.3. My Mom, Brother and Sister live in Atlanta, so I figured this was as good as any. Then the 10-day forecast came. Mid 90’s. That wasn’t what I was planning on. I knew that would be difficult for me to adjust to. Where I could, I started working out in extra clothing to help get my body temperature up. But that was a pretty feeble effort. Big Learning Here for future races. I’m not going to shun warm climate races. But, now I respect the amount of preparation and potential adjustments that need to be made in advance.