Home General Training Discussions
Options

Running with power - All things Stryd!

Calling all Stryd current, past and potential users!  

It’s been a while since the last thread on running with power.  A few months ago Stryd released its newest model that takes wind into effect.  This week they did a huge update to their software analytics in the Power Center. 

It’s time to update the conversation.

It looks like Stryd is here to stay. They have a growing presence in their Facebook group, TrainingPeaks and other software platforms now include run power, many top sports watches have the ability to see run power in real-time and other sports companies are now making running power meters to compete with Stryd.

I’ve been a long time wearer of Stryd products but only in the past 3 months or so have I fully opted in, dropped pace and began running with power.  Not sure why I waited so long!

I’m not an expert in all things Stryd, but I’ve learned a few things along the way.

I’d love to share ideas, best practices, and information with others,  If you are an expert, please speak up so we can all learn! If you are new or on the fence, chime in with questions and concerns.

My thought is to add content to this thread on a regular basis so that we can have a place to refer back to this topic over time.

So first, about me and Stryd.

I bought my first Stryd in October 2016 and had it for a year or so. Sadly my new dog ate it one day and that was that. In July 2018 I jumped back in again. When they announced the new updated version a few months ago I traded up.  Until that time I had been recording power but really using pace as the primary measure of effort. After upgrading, I decided it was time to go all-in on running with power to see if it made sense. I’ve been at it for three or four months now.